It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bastyr University Library Historical Collections: Naturopathy
Bastyr University historical documents provide a fascinating insight into the development of the field of Naturopathy. Looking through our materials you can trace the conversations that took place in the 1950s, as practitioners started the process of codifying the guiding philosophies of the field.
The conversation is still going on as the profession continues to reflect on and refine what "Naturopathy" means. The Bastyr archives have provided material for scholars who are tracking the historical debates and decisions that have shaped the modern profession.
Early Definitions of Naturopathy
Dr. Wm. A. Turska, N.D.:
Early Definitions of Naturopathy Journal of Naturopathic Medicine
Preparation, dosage, and other details of botanical substances used by naturopathic physicians in the 1940s-1950s; compiled by the Council of Naturae Medicina and Naturopathic Dispensatory of the American Naturopathic Physicians and Surgeons Association, "in collaboration with professors of Naturae Medicina and Phytotherapy in the several approved naturopathic colleges, and with pharmaceutical chemists whose special field of endeavor lies in botanical and biological study."
The Hevert Collection includes twelve volumes that bring the very best literature from the remarkable Lüst journals of the early 20th century to contemporary naturopathic doctors. The collection includes such titles as Philosophy of Naturopathic Medicine, Dietetics of Naturopathic Medicine, Principles of Naturopathic Medicine and Vaccinations and Naturopathic Medicine. The final four volumes will be published soon.
Henry Lindlahr, M.D. (1862-1924), a proponent of scientific naturopathy, explains how all disease arises from a few causes. Discussions on treatment principles include the laws of cure, negative effects of symptom suppression, the benefits of fasting, manipulation, homeopathy, dietetics, and how to address chronic disease.
Includes The Care Of The Body-Water, Human Curative Power, Light, Air, Earth, Food, Fruit Culture.
A treatise on naturopathic practice: Based on the principles and therapeutic application of the physical modes and methods of treatment (non-medical therapy) by O. Juettner
Publication Date: 1916
Universal naturopathic encyclopedia, directory and buyers' guide: Year book of drugless therapy for 1918-19 by Benedict Lust; L. Kuhne; E. E. Purington
Publication Date: 1918
Containing E.E. Purington: Efficiency in drugless healing, L. Kuhne: Neo-naturopathy ... L. Kuhne: The science of facial expression ... a register of qualified naturopathic physicians ... a list of naturopathic colleges. Butler, N.J.: Author.