Skip to main content

Faculty: Library Resources & Services: Images and Media

Orientation to services and policies, and updates on new resources and initiatives.

Looking for content to include in online classes or lecture slides? 

When preparing class content, remember to continue to apply the Fair Use checklist and give proper attribution when using images, figure or other media - it's all covered by copyright!

Histology Slide Decks

Medical

  • AccessMedicine: medical multimedia including images and videos available to use with proper attribution
  • UpToDate: medical multimedia including images and videos available to use with proper attribution
  • CDC’s Public Health Image Library:  Contains images that include the history of public health practice, epidemic investigation, pathogens such as viruses and bacteria, and human interest topics. 
  • Flickr: Specimens (Pathology): Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
  • Gray's Anatomy: provided by Bartleby.com
  • Medical Images by Patrick Lynch 
  • MedPix: medical images (registration provides additional features but isn't required)
  • National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online: Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics..
  • National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of Medicine: From the National Library of Medicine’s History of Medicine Division, this collection contains over 70,000 pictorial items on the social and historical aspects of medicine ranging from the Middle Ages to the present.
  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL): Most of the images are in the public domain and free of copyright restrictions.
  • University of Utah: Health Education Assets Library (HEAL): Contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
  • UCSD Catalog of Clinical Images: Images for use in your own educational endeavors, but be sure to provide appropriate credit for the author and the site UCSD website.

Other

  • Flikr:  In Advanced Search, limit to images with Creative Commons licenses
  • Freesound: a collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds for you to browse, download and share
  • Google Images: search for images that are "free to use and share," by changing the Usage Rights.
  • Library of Congress Prints & Photographs:  images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain
  • OpenClipArt: the largest collaboration community creating, sharing and remixing clip art in the public domain
  • Openphoto: images offered free of charge under terms of Creative Commons licensing. License terms and conditions can vary from image to image. Be sure to check.
  • Pixabay: all images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.
  • Smithsonian open access: over 2.8 images to download, share and reuse.
  • Wikimedia Commons:  a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
  • Open Font Library:  a library of free license typefaces

 

 

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus AddressLibrary Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.