Skip to main content

Faculty: Library Resources & Services

Orientation to services and policies, and updates on new resources and initiatives.

What is Copyright?

The Copyright Law of the United States of America is designed to protect the copyright holder from unauthorized use of a work. Fortunately, limitations in the law permit the legal, or fair, use of copyrighted materials without permission from the copyright holder, under certain circumstances. These limitations, called the criteria of fair use, help faculty members decide whether they can legally distribute a given material in the classroom or place it on course reserve. For additional information see the Fair Use Checklist box below.

§ 107. Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use Sec. 107 of the U.S. Copyright Law ensures that copyright does not prevent access to materials for educational purposes by allowing “legal infringements” (as some characterize them) or “the right to infringe” (as most educators phrase it).

Determining the fair use of copyrighted materials is not clear-cut. Faculty members must weigh four factors when considering whether their use of an instructional material constitutes a fair use:

  • The purpose and character of the use, including whether it's intended for non-profit (educational) or for commercial (for profit) use.
  • The nature of the copyrighted work (published or non-published, fiction or non-fiction).
  • The amount of the copyrighted work used in relation to the whole.
  • The commercial effect (will it significantly affect the profits of the copyright holder, as is often the case for items used in successive quarters or years).

The Fair Use Checklist below will help you make the determination of whether your use falls under the guidelines. 

Copyright for Campus Closures

A webinar presented by the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). Practical tips for moving course content online and complying with copyright during the cornavirus. 

 

Copyright for Campus Closures


Explication of Copyright and Fair Use During the Pandemic:

  • ​Although there is no precedence for copyright during a pandemic, even during normal times the courts favor the use of copyrighted information for education research and scholarship because it is a public benefit.
  • Per the Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists, “…making materials available and accessible to students in this time of crisis will almost always be a fair use.” The benefit of providing coursework to teach remotely during social distancing and when physical access isn't possible are dual public benefits which the court have favored.
  • Relying on licensed resources strengthens your use under the fair use guidelines, however lack of time to check for them should not be a barrier in times of emergencies.
  •  You make the final decision as to whether a use is fair. As long as you give thoughtful analysis and conclude your use if fair, you will have limited liability if you are acting with the scope of your position. If you’re uncertain, use the Fair use Checklist to help you decide.
  • Librarians cannot give you legal advice but we can provide context and additional information.

Fair Use Checklist

If you're uncertain whether using a resource falls under fair use, fill out the form to help you decide and save a copy for your files.In in doing so, you will choose some factors that favor fair use and other factors that oppose it. The final determination of whether your use is "fair" rests on the balance of factors favoring and opposing it. Because you are most familiar with the materials you intend to use, you are the best one to conduct this analysis. Completing the checklist serves two purposes:

1) it helps you assess whether the instructional materials you would like to use meet the fair use provisions of the U.S. Copyright Act;

2) it provides documentation of your fair use analysis, which is critical to establishing a "reasonable and good-faith" effort to abide by the copyright law in meeting your educational objectives.

Copyright-friendly Resources: the Details

It's always nice to find a bargain, and in some cases, there are works you can use for any purpose, including your own personal blog or website, for free! But remember, it's always best to give credit where credit is due: cite the source unless the source specifically states that you don't need to. Here are some examples of free resources:

  • Works in the public domain (i.e., the resource is no longer covered by copyright).
  • Websites that provide free content, including images (see below).

Databases/Websites Providing Copyright-friendly Resources

Medical

  • AccessMedicine: medical multimedia including images and videos available to use with proper attribution
  • UpToDate: medical multimedia including images and videos available to use with proper attribution
  • CDC’s Public Health Image Library:  Contains images that include the history of public health practice, epidemic investigation, pathogens such as viruses and bacteria, and human interest topics. 
  • Flickr: Specimens (Pathology): Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license.
  • Gray's Anatomy: provided by Bartleby.com
  • Medical Images by Patrick Lynch 
  • MedPix: medical images (registration provides additional features but isn't required)
  • National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online: Over 2,000 photos, diagrams, and drawings that can be used to help communicate meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories of biomedical, science, and patient-care topics..
  • National Library of Medicine: Images from the History of Medicine: From the National Library of Medicine’s History of Medicine Division, this collection contains over 70,000 pictorial items on the social and historical aspects of medicine ranging from the Middle Ages to the present.
  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL): Most of the images are in the public domain and free of copyright restrictions.
  • University of Utah: Health Education Assets Library (HEAL): Contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
  • UCSD Catalog of Clinical Images: Images for use in your own educational endeavors, but be sure to provide appropriate credit for the author and the site UCSD website.

Other

  • Flikr:  In Advanced Search, limit to images with Creative Commons licenses
  • Freesound: a collaborative database of Creative Commons licensed sounds for you to browse, download and share
  • Google Images: search for images that are "free to use and share," by changing the Usage Rights.
  • Library of Congress Prints & Photographs:  images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain
  • OpenClipArt: the largest collaboration community creating, sharing and remixing clip art in the public domain
  • Openphoto: images offered free of charge under terms of Creative Commons licensing. License terms and conditions can vary from image to image. Be sure to check.
  • Pixabay: all images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0.
  • Smithsonian open access: over 2.8 images to download, share and reuse.
  • Wikimedia Commons:  a database of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute
  • Open Font Library:  a library of free license typefaces

Plagiarism Detection Tools

These are the best rated, free plagiarism detetection sites:

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus AddressLibrary Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.