Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bastyr University Library

Welcome to the updated Bastyr University Library Website. This site serves both campuses!

Alumni Library Services

Changes to the alumni pages:

As of 2021, the BU library has integrated the alumni resources into the main site.  Our website will now house all resources, and all instructional content in one place, which you can continue to access as an alumni.  The only difference for our alumni library users is that alumni are not covered by some of our licenses, and so that content is restricted.  Look out for "open access" or "BU restricted" labels to help you easily identify what's available after graduation.

Services:

  • Lifelong checkout privileges
  • In-library access to computers and all resources, including electronic databases and journals
  • Assistance with retrieving full-text articles; email the library (library@bastyr.edu) for details
  • Database tutorials
  • Advice on developing search strategies and research consultations

Resources

Research resources by subject: Databases, tools, websites, and other resources. Some resources are restricted to on-campus use only for alumni. Don't live near campus? Contact us and we can assist you remotely (as far as copyright and licensing allows!).

A-Z database lista list of databases covering health sciences research, some are restricted to on-campus access - look for the padlock symbol to identify resources that are available to alumni on-campus; resources without the padlock are available off-campus to alumni.

HEAL-WA, a suite of evidence-based suite of resources for eligible professionals licensed in WA State.

Keeping Up with Clinical ResearchStrategies and techniques for how to stay current.

Supplementary Resources: We are in the process of migrating content to an Institutional Repository, eventually it will house capstones, theses, and other presentations. Some items restricted/by request only.

CMEFree and fee-based continuing education opportunities.

Bastyr Library CatalogCheck out most books for 4 weeks (1 renewal); DVDs and conference CDs for 1 week.

Tips for accessing resources after graduation

  • Check your professional organizations; many offer access to resources as part of their membership benefits e.g. AANP provide access to Natural Medicines Database
  • Check for any benefits or discounts that come with your state licensure e.g. WA state licensed professionals have the option to enroll in HealWA
  • Check your local public libraries; they often subscribe to consumer health databases and may offer inter library loan services.
  • Check your local state higher ed institutions; they will offer a public access terminal, and often have full Health Science libraries that you may be able to access
  • Some databases offer free trials - for short projects that might be all you need!

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus AddressLibrary Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.