Skip to Main Content

TR4100: Introduction to Research Methods

2020

Using Databases

A database pulls together thousands of journals and articles that you search across all at once.  Databases are organized by subject and provide searchable fields such as topic, author or title.

Here is how to choose appropriate database(s)

  • Look at the library’s database list and think about your topic before choosing one.  Read the descriptions of the databases and explore the About/Help resources within them if you need more information.
  • Databases often focus on specific subject areas, For example, PsycINFO is a good place to look for topics with a psychological component.
  • Know your search requirements:  Are you looking for a specific type of information? Do you have to have the full-text article or can you use citations with abstracts (summaries)?  Do you have a date restriction?  (use limits to choose articles published in the last 5 years, etc.)
  • Do you need Peer Reviewed articles?

Choosing your Search Terms

It's tempting to enter search terms into the box without giving them any thought. After all, you can Google almost any topic and get results.

  • But are they credible?
  • Are they recent?
  • How do you know whether you missed an important study?

This is where databases and subject headings come in. Research is most readily accessible in databases, and using subject headings can lead to more relevant results.  Most databases have a tool for finding subject headings (MeSH, CINAHL Headings, Thesaurus, etc.).  

Subject Headings: standardized search terms that retrieve articles about the same topic even though the articles may use different terminology or various spellings.

Keywords: when you search Google, you're using keywords. All of the articles that contain your term will appear without regard to context. This leads to many irrelevant results.

Subject Headings vs. Keywords

To improve search results, include both subject headings and keywords in your searches. Watch this video to learn about the differences between the two and how they can affect retrieval.

(Wellington Medical and Health Sciences Library, 2010)

Boolean Searching

Watch this video on how to construct more sophisticated database search queries using Boolean operators. Notice that Boolean operators must be capitalized when being used as part of searching.

(Source: Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences, University of AL at Birmingham)

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.