For purposes of research, it’s inefficient to scan through individual journals; instead you want to use databases to search across thousands of articles by topic.
When looking at the library’s database list, think about your topic before choosing which one to use:
Then review the database descriptions to find the right match for your needs.
A complete list of Bastyr Library databases is available, from the library homepage, but the suggestions below are most likely to help you find information pertaining to Ayurveda.
Remember that the research base for Ayurveda is small, so use a search strategy to help ensure you don't miss valuable resources.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
PubMed Research is an international biomedical citation database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. Log in to create a personal NCBI account and save search strategies. NO LOGIN NECESSARY to access Bastyr content.
For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
Search 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.
The research base for Ayurvedic Medicine is small, so when you are searching for relevant articles, you may find that you don't get many results.
Using broad searches will help make sure you don't miss anything! The following keywords and search strategies can help you find the resources you need.
Keywords that you may want to try, include:
Keyword searches are the most effective way to search most databases for Ayurveda research.
Combine keywords using Boolean operators (AND | OR | NOT) to find articles that are most relevant to your questions:
e.g. Ayurveda AND osteoarthritis
These journals focus on Ayurveda, in addition to these specific titles, research pertaining to Ayurveda can also be found in our databases.
Search tip: When looking at a journal that is focused on Ayurveda, remember you don't need to include Ayurveda in your search - you can probably use something more specific, for example you could search for assessment by using the terms: Prakruti OR Vikruti
CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486
WA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 | Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian
Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.