Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Midwifery

Master's Project Resouces

See the Capstone and Thesis guide for detailed information about the steps for writing a master's project.

SMS Senior Papers

Sudents at the former Seattle Midwifery School (SMS) wrote senior papers as part of their graduation requirements.  These papers, written from 1983-2009, are now available electronically.  While the senior papers are not equivalent to the current Dept. of Midwifery Master's Projects, they are useful to generate ideas and view topical citations.

To browse the papers and index, click on the SMS Senior Papers folder in our Supplementary Resources here:

SMS Senior Papers & Index

SMS Archives

In the summer of 2012, the historical archives of the Seattle Midwifery School (SMS) were transferred to the University of Washington's (UW) Special Collections. 

The SMS collection ranges from 1978-2009.  Click here to view its finding aid (contents):

Seattle Midwifery School (SMS) Finding Aid

Visits to the SMS archives need to scheduled at least one full day in advance.  You can make a request to do so at the UW Special Collections Reference Desk during their open hours, at 206-543-1929.  Special Collections is located in the basement of the Allen Library at UW.  Click here for current hours and campus map:  UW Special Collections, and here for more about using the archive:  Using the Collection.

Midwifery Master's Projects

The Bastyr University Dept. of Midwifery Master's Projects and Master of Public Health Projects are temporarily not searchable, however the indexes are below. If you'd like to request a Project, please contact the library, library@bastyr.edu.

Open Access Theses

If you want to look at other electronic theses and disertations (ETDs), here are databases that contain topic searchable doucuments, some of which are open-access (free) and full-text.

PQDT Open:  All Bastyr Midwifery theses, or Master's Projects (Expanded or Continuation)  published in 2012, or later, are here!  The best way to find them is to go to More Search Options, and type Bastyr in the School/Institution box.

Global ETD Search:  A free service for researchers to find electronic theses and dissertations, provided by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations.

Electronic Theses Online Service (EThOS):  Theses produced by UK higher education institutes.  Free search capability with registration, full text may be purchased online.

Theses Canada:  An open access database of theses published at more than 60 Canadian universities.

Publishing Your Thesis as an Article

If you are interested in eventually publishing your thesis or capstone as a journal article;  a tool called “Jane” may help with that endeavor.

 

In Jane, you enter keywords or the abstract from your thesis, and then Jane retreives results from MEDLINE (PubMed) journals which are rated for similar content (and therefore potential publication interest).  There are many Midwifery/Birth specific journals that are not indexed in MEDLINE, so these will not be included in the results, but it is a good place to start getting an idea of which journals might be interested in your future article.

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus AddressLibrary Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.