The databases below have useful information on midwifery topics. Click here to view the complete list of Bastyr Library databases. Before you begin your search, read the database descriptions and match your information needs to the most appropriate ones.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThe Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
EmbaseThis link opens in a new windowResearch (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
LactMedLactMed, a free online database with information on drugs and lactation, is one of the newest additions to the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, a Web-based collection of resources covering toxicology, chemical safety, and environmental health.
Natural MedicinesThis link opens in a new windowReviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new window(New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books.
For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
ScienceDirect College EditionThis link opens in a new windowSearch 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.