A database pulls together thousands of journals and articles that you search all at once. Databases are organized by subject and provide searchable fields such as topic, author or title.
Here is how to choose appropriate database(s)
Why can't I just Google to find research? Being an efficient searcher means knowing when to use what tool. You will find the most relevant scholarly journal articles (both primary and secondary) when you search in databases.
Watch this video, Library Databases versus Search Engines, to learn about how their differences affect your searches. (Created by the Wellington Medical and Health Sciences Library, 2010).
How do you find the most relevant/recent research on your topic and be reasonably confident you haven’t missed any important studies? You need to create a search strategy, which is a systematic way of locating relevant materials on your topic.
The steps below yield a big payoff in terms of searching efficiently and effectively.
1. Focus your topic: Choose something that interests you! Then identify the question you're trying to answer. For example, does listening to music help patients manage their pain?
2. Select keywords and concepts for your topic. List only terms that are crucial to your topic (primarily nouns) and their synonyms: music, music therapy, background music; pain, illness, pain management, pain perception, etc.
3. Choose appropriate databases: review the descriptions on the database list.
4. Write a search statement (This is what you would type in a database search box): music therapy AND pain management. Usually search terms are nouns. Use AND (in all caps) to combine search terms. This way, the database will only retrieve results that contain both terms. (See Cat AND Therapy)
5. Run your search and evaluate the results. Keep your searches broad when you first start searching.
6. Revise as necessary. If you have too many hits, set (additional) filters/limits; for too few hits use additional synonyms or broader search terms.
Connecting your search terms so that a database understands your intention (so to speak) is really important to finding what you're looking for; watch this video to learn or refresh your memory about the functions of those pesky Boolean operators, AND, OR and NOT.
Produced by the University Libraries at McMaster University, Hamilton, Nov. 28, 2016; reused under Creative Commons Attribution Licensing.
CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486
WA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 | Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian
Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.