BU Library: Systematic Reviews (SRs): Searching

The Search Strategy

Developing a complex search strategy takes time and trial and error. Search strategies should begin with several articles that would likely be included in the systematic review.

Controlled vocabulary, like MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) from Medline, as well as appropriate keywords are developed and tested. Then a complex search string is created using filters that are designed to include studies meeting the criteria. The goal is to increase sensitivity in order to ensure as complete a recall as possible.

Databases: Most guidelines for medical systematic reviews require that searches be run in 2 to 3 databases, plus grey literature. Usually Medline, Embase, and Cochrane CENTRAL Register of Controlled Trials are required. However, if you are finding too few results, searching a few subject specific databases, or broadening your search strategy is required to ensure a balanced search.

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed Research is an international biomedical citation database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. Log in to create a personal NCBI account and save search strategies. NO LOGIN NECESSARY to access Bastyr content.  For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.

Library databases page
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects )
Archived by Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (York University), content active through March 2015.

Guides and Tools

Avoiding Bias in Searching

A well planned search protocol can help to avoid the risk of reporting bias.

Grey Literature

Grey literature is any material that is not produced by commercial publishers, or not "systematically identified, stored or indexed".

This could include government reports, white papers, conference proceedings, newsletters, business reports, dissertation & thesis, registered trials not published yet.

Including grey literature helps to:

reduce publication bias,
increase currency of results,
include global literature,
include unpublished trial data.

Knowing what resources to search and when to stop is a tricky balancing act. What resources to search depends greatly on the subject and context of your review.

For more see http://www.greynet.org/greysourceindex/documenttypes.html

Clinical Trial Resources

ClinicalTrials.gov
AllTrials AllTrials was launched in January 2013 to call for all clinical trials to be registered and results reported.
Open Trials OpenTrials aims to locate, match, and share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by the registries listed. It also provides links to the full original records
UK ISRCTN Primary trial registry in the UK
UK Clinical Trials Gateway A gateway for patients looking for clinical trials.

Regulatory Data

US Food and Drug Administration Also search for medical devices.
Health Canada Drug Product Database
European Public Assessment Reports (EPAR)

General Resources