BU Library: Research Portal: Databases & Sets

What is a Dataset?

Just what is a dataset? This video introduces the basic concepts.

Created by Jason Husser Elon University, licensed by YouTube, 2014.

Databases by Subject

AcuTrials This link opens in a new window From the Oregon College of Oriental Medicine, a comprehensive collection of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews of acupuncture published in English; primarily compiled from PubMed, the Cochrane Library and the OCOM library. Create your own account by clicking on the 'register' button in the login box.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window Search 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window A multi-faceted clinical search engine with categorized results linking to full text articles in the Bastyr library collection when accessed via MyBU.

All Databases

For a comprehensive list of clinical tools, see the Clinical Portal

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 130 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, and a comprehensive search platform. Some features may require that you register for a free MyAccessMedcine account from a Bastyr computer. Create your account from the dropdown menu in the upper right hand corner of the AccessMedcine home page. Once registered your account can be accessed from off-site computers or mobile devices.
Access Medicine - Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window A complete collection of basic science and clinical medicine cases presented in an interactive format. Users can mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.
ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window A monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine, ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. The summaries are available through Medline, this link takes you directly to the ACP full-text list.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Access to over 500 journals and over 1100 ebooks, Clinical Overview point-of-care clinical monographs (replaced First Consult), practice guidelines, medical videos and more. Register for a free account using the link in the upper right corner of the home page in order to access pdf files.
Dr. Journal Club This link opens in a new window For busy medical professionals and students who want to learn more about evidence-based medicine and keep up-to-date with clinically relevant research studies. Free approved CE units are also available.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Quick access to medical information at the point-of-care. Now with interaction checker! ***NOTE: YOU DO NOT NEED TO LOGIN ONCE YOU ARE ON THE MAIN PAGE. THAT IS A SECONDARY LOGIN TO CREATE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT***
JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window helps decision identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Medical Media Systems This link opens in a new window Brief but comprehensive patient physical exam and history-taking videos. Sometimes loads slowly but worth the wait!

All Databases

AcuTrials This link opens in a new window From the Oregon College of Oriental Medicine, a comprehensive collection of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews of acupuncture published in English; primarily compiled from PubMed, the Cochrane Library and the OCOM library. Create your own account by clicking on the 'register' button in the login box.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Aimed at the layperson; includes some peer-reviewed and scholarly journals.
ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
CORE-Hom This link opens in a new window Clinical outcomes research in homeopathy. Free registration required.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
IBIS (Integrative BodyMind Information System) This link opens in a new window A natural medicine reference tool which includes a compilation of nutrition, botanical medicine, acupuncture, homeopathy and more. Download for free to your home computer or laptop by entering your email address to receive a serial number and instructions for downloading.

All Databases

American Botanical Council (ABC) This link opens in a new window *BU login information is on the library SharePoint under “Bastyr Library Department Intranet Content”: https://bastyr.sharepoint.com/SitePages/Library.aspxScience-based information that promotes the safe and effective use of medicinal plants and phytomedicines. ABC publishes the Expanded German Commission E monographs, HerbalGram (journal) and HerbClip (reviews/summaries of seminal research).

Bot Med Rocks

ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
Examine This link opens in a new window **Create Account to Access Examine+ material** Evidence-based nutrition, herb/supplement and health information. Content includes health topics, study summaries and study deep dives, which discuss findings in detail. The Human Effect Matrix grades levels of evidence.
HerbMedPro This link opens in a new window Hosted by the American Botanical Council. Provides links to research on medicinal plants regarding efficacy, methods of preparation, mechanism of action and cautions. Funded by the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.*BU login information is on the library SharePoint under “Bastyr Library Department Intranet Content”: https://bastyr.sharepoint.com/SitePages/Library.aspx
InteractionsGuide (Mitch Stargrove, ND, LAc) This link opens in a new window Evidence-based coverage of the management of the most common herb-drug and nutrient-drug interactions.
Native American Ethnobotany This link opens in a new window Free database of plants used by native Peoples of North America for food, drugs, dyes, fibers and more; with links for most species to the to the USDA Plants Database. From of the University of Michigan–Dearborn.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window CABI Digital Library is an abstract database of internationally published research on cultivated and wild species of culinary herbs, spices, essential oils and medicinal plants. Developed from CAB Abstracts, the original applied life sciences database, coverage includes the botany, cultivation, biological activity and use of these plants.

All Databases

ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
Examine This link opens in a new window **Create Account to Access Examine+ material** Evidence-based nutrition, herb/supplement and health information. Content includes health topics, study summaries and study deep dives, which discuss findings in detail. The Human Effect Matrix grades levels of evidence.
Nutrition and Food Sciences (CABI) This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. Includes research, reviews and news on nutrition and the food sciences with over 1,000,000 bibliographic records and 32,000 full text documents. Contact the library if the article you need is not available.
Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window From the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, a diet and professional practice manual for registered dietitians. Includes nutrition care information for many diseases, conditions and topics. Also see the Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual . Limited to 4 users at a time. Retry in a few minutes if you are unable to access. Please log off when you are finished.
Pediatric Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window A diet and professional practice manual for dietitians with a focus on pediatrics. Includes nutrition care information on over 40 diseases, conditions and topics. Also see the Nutrition Care Manual. Limited to 2 users at a time. Retry in a few minutes if you are unable to access. Please log off when you are finished.
PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
Sports Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window Written by Board Certified Specialists in Sports Dietetics (CSSDs) from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics; SNCM provides research-based nutrition information focused on sports and athletics. Also see the Nutrition Care Manual. Limited to 2 users at a time. Retry in a few minutes if you are unable to access. Please log off when you are finished.

All Databases

AcuTrials This link opens in a new window From the Oregon College of Oriental Medicine, a comprehensive collection of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews of acupuncture published in English; primarily compiled from PubMed, the Cochrane Library and the OCOM library. Create your own account by clicking on the 'register' button in the login box.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.

All Databases

Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window The largest education database in the world, ERIC contains over 1.3 million citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. This database contains more than 218,000 articles from over 119 American Psychological Association (APA)-published and affiliated journals.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.

All Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window See the Self-Assesment tab to create custom quizzes and select flashcards by topic. Work through patient cases and view multimedia by category and system. Also, see review books. Set up a MyAccess Profile to fully utilize the study features.
Access Medicine - Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window A complete collection of basic science and clinical medicine cases presented in an interactive format. Users can mark their progress through completed and unseen cases.

Bastyr Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
EthnoMed This link opens in a new window Information and resources for clinicians working with refugees and immigrants including cultural profiles and patient education material in over ten languages. Provided by Harborview Medical Center at the University of Washington.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window NOTE: THIS IS NOT NECESSARILY A DATABASE, SIMPLY A STARTING TOOL. To set up linking to Bastyr resources from your personal computer open Google Scholar, click on Settings in the upper left corner, select Library Links on the left side of the page. Enter Bastyr in the search box and select “Bastyr Univ - Bastyr-WA Full Text” and save.

LibGuides Research guides including Write & Cite, Midwifery, and Herbal Sciences, compiled by your friendly librarians.

PQDT Open (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open (PQDT Open) provides full-text access to dissertations and theses, including theses published at Bastyr University from 2012 onward.
Note - the old "free" interface is still available:
https://pqdtopen.proquest.com/search.html
ProQuest Research Library Complete This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. Full-text articles, and you can limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. Select Scholarly Journals, including Peer-Reviewed below the search box.

All Databases

Data Sets

Datasets can be difficult to search because they information is presented in different ways and may be incomplete. Consult HELP or the FAQ's when you get stuck, or contact your friendly librarian.

CDC Wonder Data on various public health topics, including AIDS, cancer statistics, tuberculosis...
ClinicalStudyDataRequest.com Access to anonymised patient level data and/or supporting documents from clinical studies to conduct further research.
Data.gov Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Datahub Free, powerful data management platform from the Open Knowledge Foundation, based on the CKAN data management system. Registration (free) required.
HealthData.gov 64 data sharing repositories (NIH).
re3data.org About 1,500 research data repositories, making it the largest and most comprehensive registry of data repositories available on the web.
Yale Open Data Access (YODA) Project 171 sets of clinical trial data in YODA. Applications for access and reuse of data are strictly reviewed.