BU Library: MW5106: A Survey of Research Methods: Other Databases

Cochrane Library & Google Scholar

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
NOTE: THIS IS NOT NECESSARILY A DATABASE, SIMPLY A STARTING TOOL.
To set up linking to Bastyr resources from your personal computer open Google Scholar, click on Settings in the upper left corner, select Library Links on the left side of the page. Enter Bastyr in the search box and select “Bastyr Univ - Bastyr-WA Full Text” and save.

Check out the Introduction to Epidemiology for Midwives tutorial, if you need a more in-depth review.

Additional Bastyr Databases with Midwifery Content

The databases below have useful information on midwifery topics. Click here to view the complete list of Bastyr Library databases. Before you begin your search, read the database descriptions and match your information needs to the most appropriate ones.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 24 million indexed records and more than 7,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,000 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles.
Examine This link opens in a new window
**Create Account to Access Examine+ material**

Evidence-based nutrition, herb/supplement and health information. Content includes health topics, study summaries and study deep dives, which discuss findings in detail. The Human Effect Matrix grades levels of evidence.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.