Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Use the library

How to use the library...

On-campus:

We have two campus libraries; one in Kenmore, and one in San Diego.  We also support the clinic reference collections at the clinics in San Diego and Seattle.

The Kenmore library space is once again open after being restricted due to Covid. San Diego library space is closed in order to prepare for the move to a new library that's entering construction stages in Fall - stay tuned for updates of this project!

On-campus resources include books, and physical media. Our Kenmore campus library has anatomical models and some resources that you might not expect, like board games, puzzles and HAPI lights to help you through the gray Pacific Northwest winters.

If we have to re-implement Covid restrictions, library spaces will be closed to students except for pre-ordered pick-ups - you can request materials online and you'll get an email when they're available for pick-up.  Pick-up times are 11-1, M-F (BUK); 11-1, M-Thu (BUC).   Full details here:  https://bastyr.libguides.com/pickup

 

Online:

The library team is available online to answer your questions using either email, chat (during our regular hours), and by making an appointment for a video conference with a librarian.

All our online resources are available 24/7 both on and off-campus. You will need to log in to the BU library proxy server to access materials off-campus - you log in with your usual Bastyr username and password. 

To get full-text articles:

We have around 13 million research articles already covered by our subscriptions, you can get to the full text of the articles we subscribe to by looking for the following icons when searching our databases:

 

Request articles through interlibrary loan:

If you need an article that isn't covered by our current subscriptions, you can request the full text here: Article Request Form

You can also request articles directly through our databases - if you find an article that isn't covered under our license, in most databases you will be offered the opportunity to request the article directly:

Find books and course reserves: 

Use the library catalog to search for books and physical media.  A search is also embedded in the library home page!

You can log in to the catalog and place a hold on books to pick up.  If you have trouble logging in or placing a hold, please contact us for help with your account.

The catalog home page has a link in the top left for you to check if any books have been placed on course reserve for your classes.

NOTE: holds can't be placed on 2-hour course reserves - the system may seem to let you place the hold, but it won't be processed!

screen shot of catalog with hold button and course reserve link highlighted

 

Get started on research: 

We have prepared guides that collect and present the best starting points for research on most of the broad subject areas taught at Bastyr University.  

Check out the Research Guides to find our recommendation for books, databases, and websites by subject area.

We also have "How To" Guides that provide an introduction to the steps and skills you'll need to succeed in your classes and clinical experience - we've created guides to help with search skills, citation, as well as guides that help walk you through larger projects like theses and capstones.

For the questions that come up every quarter, we have a searchable FAQ tool - it's a great place to start, but always reach out and ask if you don't find what you're looking for! 

 

 

 

 

CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486

WA Campus AddressLibrary Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 |  Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian

 Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.