For purposes of research, it’s inefficient to scan through individual journals; instead you want to use databases to search across thousands of journals by topic.
When considering what database to search, ask:
Review the database description to find the right match for your needs.
Aimed at the layperson; includes some peer-reviewed and scholarly journals.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
PubMed Research is an international biomedical citation database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. Log in to create a personal NCBI account and save search strategies. NO LOGIN NECESSARY to access Bastyr content.
For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
Try using Google Scholar rather than Google when searching for research studies on the web.
Google Scholar is a specialized search engine that only searches for scholarly papers. Bonus! Access it through the MyBU>Library Databases page, for Bastyr library's full text offerings; sort by date to get the most current research.
Advantages:
Disadvantages:
CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486
WA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 | Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian
Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.