BU Library: Herbal Sciences: Websites and Associations

Web-searching Tips

Internet searching for hard-to-find and cutting edge information

If you are having trouble locating information on an herb, try the web. Be sure to evaluate the quality of the websites you choose. For example, look for a statement of who is responsible for the content, when it was last updated, and who the information is targeted to.

Three efficient ways to search the Web:

Search websites that are recommended and/or evaluated by experts and professionals, such as faculty, library staff and authorities in the field.

Use advanced search features that are available in major search engines such as Google. (Run a search, then, click Advanced Search and set limits such as date to narrow your results.

Use a specialized search engine such as google scholar to focus your search: http://scholar.google.com/

Botanical Websites

Botanical.com
Contains an electronic version of "A Modern Herbal" by Maud Grieve, and article index, book reviews and other useful features.
David Winston's Center for Herbal Sciences
See Resources for articles, materia medica and information about eclectic and Thomsonian medicine and more.
Dr. Duke's Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases
These databases contain information on the activity of chemicals in plants, and ethnobotanical uses for plants. Databases are searchable by plant(scientific or common name), chemical (e.g., ascorbic acid), or activity (e.g., antiviral).
Henriettes Herbal Homepage
“Herbal medicine and culinary herbs: one of the oldest and largest herbal information sites on the net.” Includes electronic versions of historical texts. You must register (it's free) in order to use the search engine. Go to Create New Account on the bottom left-side of page.
Herbal e-Library
A compendium of resources vetted by the American Herbal products association.
Institute for the Preservation of Medical Traditions
From the website: Clues for new medicines are hidden in old books reporting centuries of therapeutic experiences and practice. We trace these documents worldwide, decipher and interpret their texts, and repurpose their information for new scientific research.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
Internet Directory for Botany
A well-maintained site from the Botanical Museum, Finnish Museum of Natural History in Helsinki, the Directory’s categories include ethnobotany, herbal medicine and poisons. Hundreds of links are compiled, many of which are accompanied by useful annotations.
Lloyd Library
Focuses on medicinal plants, botany, and pharmacy, Also includes Information about Eclectic medicine.
Matthew Wood: Sunnyfield Herb Farm
A practicing herbalist since 1982 inspired to learn, preserve, and practice the tradition of herbal medicine descending to us from our European, Anglo-American, and Native American heritage. See his books in the main collection.
MediHerb.com
Created by Paul Bergner, medical herbalist and clinical nutritionist. Free articles from the first 16 years of publication of Medical Herbalism from 1989 - 2005, and much more.
Native American Ethnobotany
"A database of foods, drugs, dyes and fibers of Native American peoples, derived from plants." Sponsored by the University of Michigan--Dearborn.
The Plant List (World Flora Online)
"A working list of all known plant species. The Plant List provides the Accepted Latin name for most species, with links to all Synonyms by which that species has been known. It also includes Unresolved names for which the contributing data sources did not contain sufficient evidence to decide whether they were Accepted or Synonyms."
Southwest School of Botanical Medicine
Created by Michael Moore, a prolific author. This site contains interesting texts, and a long list of botanical woodcuts, images, and illustrations.
The Sustainable Herbs Program
An interactive site created by the producers of "Numen: The Nature of Plants" to celebrate the values of herbal medicine and show consumers there is more to herbal medicine than a product on a shelf. Guided presentations will educate about the herb industry overall and also about commodity chains and sustainability more broadly.

How to Evaluate Websites

Evaluating Medical and Other Resources on the Web

Not everything on the web is credible! This guide has tips for critically evaluating websites.

Associations

American Botanical Council (ABC)
The American Botanical Council, incorporated in 1988, is the leading nonprofit educational and research organization disseminating science-based information that promotes the safe and effective use of medicinal plants and phytomedicines.
American Herbal Pharmacopoeia (AHP)
Creating standard-setting herbal monographs to ensure the highest quality herbal medicine extracts.
American Herbal Products Association (AHPA)
Founded in 1983, the AHPA is the national trade association and voice of the herbal products industry. Herbal FAQs, Resource Links and Press Room are useful. News and other information are accessible only to members.
American Herbalists Guild (AHG)
An association of herbal practitioners established in 1989. Encourages high standards of education and ethics, and promotes herbal research.
United Plant Savers (UpS)
"A non-profit education corporation dedicated to preserving native medicinal plants."