BU Library: BUC Clinical Portal: Consult & Research/Calculators

Clinical Consult

Point-of-Care

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window Combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis with a focus on the patient consultation.

FIRSTConsult (accessed via ClinicalKey) Select First Consult from the drop-down menu next to search box.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window Quick access to medical information at the point-of-care. Now with interaction checker! ***NOTE: YOU DO NOT NEED TO LOGIN ONCE YOU ARE ON THE MAIN PAGE. THAT IS A SECONDARY LOGIN TO CREATE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT***

emedicine.medscape.com Clinical resources
Merck Manual Free, unlimited use, continuously updated
Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine (UCSD) A comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals

Physical Exam & Diagnosis

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 130 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, and a comprehensive search platform. Some features may require that you register for a free MyAccessMedcine account from a Bastyr computer. Create your account from the dropdown menu in the upper right hand corner of the AccessMedcine home page. Once registered your account can be accessed from off-site computers or mobile devices.
Medical Media Systems This link opens in a new window
Brief but comprehensive patient physical exam and history-taking videos. Sometimes loads slowly but worth the wait!

Stanford 25 25 important PE skills. A learning resource created by Stanford University School of Medicine.

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
A monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine, ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals.
The summaries are available through Medline, this link takes you directly to the ACP full-text list.

ClinicalKey Click on More (navigation bar) & select Guidelines, or select the filter to left of search box
ECRI Guidelines Trust
(temporarily down for restructuring)
Successor of The National Guidelines Clearinghouse. "A repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content." You must register for a free account.
National Institute for Health & Care Excellence

Herbs & Supplements

ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window
Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
InteractionsGuide (Mitch Stargrove, ND, LAc) This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based coverage of the management of the most common herb-drug and nutrient-drug interactions.
NatMed Pro (Formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new window
Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.

Botanical Searching (Residents' Resources) Tips on constructing searches, search terms, websites & resources, including classic texts.

Drugs

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access to over 500 journals and over 1100 ebooks, Clinical Overview point-of-care clinical monographs (replaced First Consult), practice guidelines, medical videos and more. Register for a free account using the link in the upper right corner of the home page in order to access pdf files.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 130 medical titles, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, and a comprehensive search platform. Some features may require that you register for a free MyAccessMedcine account from a Bastyr computer. Create your account from the dropdown menu in the upper right hand corner of the AccessMedcine home page. Once registered your account can be accessed from off-site computers or mobile devices.

Calculators Galore

JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window
helps decision identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.

Specialized Calculators

Research Databases (clinical studies, review articles, etc.)

BU PubMed (MEDLINE) Biomedical and CAM research.
EMBASE 60,000 clinical trials not found in MEDLINE; greater coverage of Asian, European, non-English journals

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collaboration provides full-text reviews and meta-analyses, focusing on a wide range of therapies. Also provides abstracts of randomized controlled trials.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Search 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Useful for little-researched and/or cutting edge topics, government information, quick overviews
Trip Database EBM search engine

AccessMedicine
ClinicalKey
e-Books Search
Jama Evidence Four textbooks including User's Guide to the Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination and Care at the Close of Life.