BU Library: TR4113: Nutritional Supplements & Herbs: Resources: Dietary Supplements & Herbs

Top Resources

These databases and websites all provide credible information on nutritional supplements and herbs BUT it's up to you to carefully evaluate it.

American Botanical Council (ABC) This link opens in a new window *BU login information is on the library SharePoint under “Bastyr Library Department Intranet Content”: https://bastyr.sharepoint.com/SitePages/Library.aspxScience-based information that promotes the safe and effective use of medicinal plants and phytomedicines. ABC publishes the Expanded German Commission E monographs, HerbalGram (journal) and HerbClip (reviews/summaries of seminal research).
Examine This link opens in a new window **Create Account to Access Examine+ material** Evidence-based nutrition, herb/supplement and health information. Content includes health topics, study summaries and study deep dives, which discuss findings in detail. The Human Effect Matrix grades levels of evidence.
HerbMedPro This link opens in a new window Hosted by the American Botanical Council. Provides links to research on medicinal plants regarding efficacy, methods of preparation, mechanism of action and cautions. Funded by the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.*BU login information is on the library SharePoint under “Bastyr Library Department Intranet Content”: https://bastyr.sharepoint.com/SitePages/Library.aspx
ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.
Nutrition and Food Sciences (CABI) This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. Includes research, reviews and news on nutrition and the food sciences with over 1,000,000 bibliographic records and 32,000 full text documents. Contact the library if the article you need is not available.
CABI Digital Library This link opens in a new window CABI Digital Library is an abstract database of internationally published research on cultivated and wild species of culinary herbs, spices, essential oils and medicinal plants. Developed from CAB Abstracts, the original applied life sciences database, coverage includes the botany, cultivation, biological activity and use of these plants.

American Herbal Products Assn. (AHPA)
Henriette's Herbal Homepage One of of the oldest botanical websites. Includes the classic texts (King's American Dispensatory...)
Office of Dietary Supplements Overviews of vitamins, minerals and dietary supplements.
Southwest School of Botanical Medicine Created by Michael Moore, a prolific author. This site contains interesting texts, and a long list of botanical woodcuts, images, and illustrations.