Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bastyr University Library News

Why YOU should have a My NCBI Account

by Zemirah Lee on 2020-11-30T14:49:57-08:00 in Articles/Reviews, Research Tools BUC, Research Tools WA | Comments

NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology information) has 60+ databases, including PubMed, MeSH, Bookshelf and others you may be familiar with. In this post, we are looking at My NCBI which is a free, personalized account for you to use in conjunction with all of NCBI. 

My NCBI allows you to save searches, set email alerts, save collections of citations, manage filters, and save site preferences for major NCBI databases. For anyone with NIH funding, it is best to log into My NCBI by clicking on NIH Login and using your eRA Commons credentials. For anyone those of us without an eRA Commons account, simply create an account using your email of choice. 

The Saved Searches feature facilitates saving search queries for NCBI databases, and provides automatic e-mail updates for saved searches, which can be set up on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis. For more help on saving and managing searches: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK53592/

Search results from many NCBI databases can be saved in My NCBI using the Collections feataure. Citations to articles published by other authors can be stored in a collection. In addition, collections can be made public to share with others. For instance, when you work with us to run searches in PubMed, we might be able to generate a search and what you see is the link to the search results that we've added to a designated "collection". It's really quite useful!

The My NCBI video below was last updated October 23, 2019 and gives a great intro to your My NCBI Dashboard (2:30). 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...