Skip to Main Content

APA Citation Guide (7th edition): Monographs & Databases

This guide shows you how to cite using APA 7th edition - many thanks to our colleagues at Columbia College BC for providing content!

Notes about citing Databases

  • In general, APA style does not require that you reference a database, except when a database contains original, proprietary information or a work that has limited circulation.
  • For monographs in databases, refer to the columns on this page to cite. For all other database pages cite them as a website.
  • You can find more information on citing databases from the APA Style Guide here
  • Cite pages from NCCIH database as a government document from a website

Herbal Monograph from NatMed Pro

NatMed Pro. (Year of Publication, Month Day). Title of Monograph [Monograph]. Retrieved from URL

Example

NatMed Pro. (2015). Caffeine [Monograph]. Retrieved from

https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/databases/food,-herbs-supplements/professional.aspx?productid=979

 
In-Text Paraphrase

(Year)

Example: According to this monograph from NatMed Pro... (2015)
In-Text Quote

(NatMedPro, Year)

Example: (NatMed Pro, 2015)

Note: When there are no visible page numbers or paragraph numbers, you may cite the section heading and the number of the paragraph in that section to identify where your quote came from.

 

(From Regis College, 2024 & State College of Florida, 2024)

American Herbal Pharmacopoiea

Note: If from a physical monograph, simply omit the URL

Editor Last Name, First Initial. (Eds.). (Year). Monograph title. American Herbal Pharmacopoeia. URL

Example

Romm, A., & Upton, R. (Eds.). (2012). Blue cohosh root and rhizome. American

Herbal Pharmacopoeia. https://library.torrens.edu.au/ld.php?content_id=908864

 
In-Text Paraphrase

(Year)

Example: According to this monograph from NatMed Pro... (2015)
In-Text Quote

(NatMedPro, Year)

Example: (NatMed Pro, 2015)

 

(From Torrens University, 2024)