Bastyr University Library

Alumni resources are integrated into the main website which houses resources and instructional content in one place, much of which you can continue to access. The only difference is that alumni are not covered by some of our licenses, and that content is restricted. Look for "open access" or "BU restricted" labels to help you identify what's available after graduation. 

Services

• Lifelong checkout privileges
• In-library access to computers and all resources, including electronic databases and journals
• Assistance with retrieving full-text articles; email the library (library@bastyr.edu) for details
• Database tutorials
• Advice on developing search strategies and research consultations

Resources

Research resources by subject: Databases, tools, websites, and other resources. Some resources are restricted to on-campus use only for alumni. Don't live near campus? Contact us and we can assist you remotely (as far as copyright and licensing allows!).

A-Z database list: a list of databases covering health sciences research, some are restricted to on-campus access - look for the padlock symbol to identify resources that are available to alumni on-campus; resources without the padlock are available off-campus to alumni.

HEAL-WA, a suite of evidence-based suite of resources for eligible professionals licensed in WA State.

Keeping Up with Clinical Research: Strategies and techniques for how to stay current.

Institutional Repository: Our new institutional repository uses a platform called DSpace.  It houses research produced by Bastyr students during their degrees such as Capstone and Thesis work and will grow to include records of Bastyr symposia and other research activities. The Repository is indexed and organized into "Collections" - the abstracts of all content should be viewable, and the full text is available on request through the Repository. You do not need to login or create an account.

CME: Free and fee-based continuing education opportunities.

Bastyr Library Catalog: Check out most books for 4 weeks (1 renewal); DVDs and conference CDs for 1 week.

Bastyr Library blog: subscribe to our blog to stay on top of the latest library news and resources.

Tips for accessing resources after graduation

• Check your professional organizations; many offer access to resources as part of their membership benefits e.g. AANP provide access to Natural Medicines Database
• Check for any benefits or discounts that come with your state licensure e.g. WA state licensed professionals have the option to enroll in HealWA
• Check your local public libraries; they often subscribe to consumer health databases and may offer inter library loan services.
• Check your local state higher ed institutions; they will offer a public access terminal, and often have full Health Science libraries that you may be able to access
• Some databases offer free trials - for short projects that might be all you need!