BU Library: Point of Care Tools: Consult & Research/Calculators

Connection issues? Try Chrome. Safari and Firefox are sometimes timing out when connecting to library resources.

Labs and Dispensary

RUPA
Order labs from multiple companies in one place. Remember to log in as Bastyr Clinic! Username: bastyrclinics@rupahealth.com - Don't remember the password? Check the Clinic Portal on MyBU! https://bastyr.sharepoint.com/SitePages/Clinic.aspx
Wellevate
BCNH Dispensary online store
BCNH Dispensary Search
BCNH Dispensary inventory search
Sound Medical Laboratory – Northwest Laboratory Test Menu
BCNH Reference Lab (SML – NWL) test search website

Clinical Consult

Point-of-Care

BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window Combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis with a focus on the patient consultation.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Quick access to medical information at the point-of-care. Now includes an interaction checker. Note: in order to access Calculators, you must create a personal account. This appears to be a vendor issue and DynaMed has been contacted.

Clinical Overview (replaced FIRSTConsult, accessed via ClinicalKey) Select First Consult from the drop-down menu next to search box.
Medscape Clinical resources
Merck Manual Free, unlimited use, continuously updated
Practical Guide to Clinical Medicine (UCSD) A comprehensive physical examination and clinical education site for medical students and other health care professionals

Physical Exam & Diagnosis

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window See Quick Reference tab for diagnostic tools.
Medical Media Systems This link opens in a new window Brief but comprehensive patient physical exam and history-taking videos. Sometimes loads slowly but worth the wait!

Stanford 25 25 important PE skills. A learning resource created by Stanford University School of Medicine.

Guidelines/Evidence Summaries

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window Summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 130 clinical journals. [Limited to one concurrent user.]

AHRQ (Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality, USDHHS) Thorough reports on a variety of health-related topics; assessments often include NNT (Number Needed to Treat). Increasingly adding topics relevant to naturopathic medicine. Start with: AHRQ Home>For Professionals>Prevention & Chronic Care>Evidence-based Decision Making.
ClinicalKey Click on More (navigation bar) & select Guidelines, or select the filter to left of search box
ECRI Guidelines Trust
(temporarily down for restructuring)
Successor of The National Guidelines Clearinghouse. "A repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content." You must register for a free account.
National Institute for Health & Care Excellence

Herbs, Supplements, Drugs

Herbs & Supplements

American Botanical Council (ABC) This link opens in a new window ABC publishes HerbalGram (journal), HerbClip (reviews/summaries of seminal research) and manages the HerbPro database, an interactive, electronic herbal database.
ConsumerLab.com This link opens in a new window Independent test results verifying the contents of brand name health, wellness, and nutrition products.
Examine This link opens in a new window **Create Account to Access Examine+ material** Evidence-based nutrition, herb/supplement and health information. Content includes health topics, study summaries and study deep dives, which discuss findings in detail. The Human Effect Matrix grades levels of evidence.
Food & Drug Administration, U.S. (FDA) This link opens in a new window The FDA has broad authority for the oversite of food and drugs. For specific information on what the agency regulates, see the website, About FDA.
HerbMedPro This link opens in a new window Provides links to research on medicinal plants regarding efficacy, methods of preparation, mechanism of action and cautions. Funded by the Alternative Medicine Foundation, Inc.
InteractionsGuide (Mitch Stargrove, ND, LAc) This link opens in a new window Evidence-based coverage of the management of the most common herb-drug and nutrient-drug interactions.
MedlinePlus - Drugs Herbs & Supplements This link opens in a new window Information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.

Botanical Searching (Residents' Resources) Tips on constructing searches, search terms, websites & resources, including classic texts.

Drugs

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Click Drugs on the tool bar. See search filters on left.
BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window Click on Drugs (upper right)
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Click on Drug Monographs.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Quick access to medical information at the point-of-care. Now with interaction checker! ***NOTE: YOU DO NOT NEED TO LOGIN ONCE YOU ARE ON THE MAIN PAGE. THAT IS A SECONDARY LOGIN TO CREATE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT***
MedlinePlus - Drugs Herbs & Supplements This link opens in a new window Information about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

Oncology Drugs

Oncolink Rx University of Pennsylvania
National Cancer Institute National Institute of Health A - Z list of Drugs
Cancer Treatment Centers of America Cancer Drugs

Calculators

Calculators Galore

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Click on Clinical Calculators.
JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window Evidence-based instructional materials including digital access to Users Guide to the Medical Literature and Rational Physical Exam, education guides, calculators and A/V learning tools.

Specialized Calculators

BMI Calculator (Source: NHLBI guidelines) Source: NHLBI guidelines.
Breast Cancer Risk Assessment
EBM Calculators (Alan Schwartz)
FRAX (Fracture Risk Assessment Tool) Evaluates the risk of fractures
HOMA (Homeostasis Model Assessment) Homeostasis Model Assessment (HOMA) for health care practitioners; must be downloaded to your own computer to access.
Interactive DRI for Healthcare Professionals
S.C.O.R.E. Simple Calculated Osteoporosis Risk Estimation
MDCalc.com

Research

Research Databases (clinical studies, review articles, etc.)

PubMed This link opens in a new window (New interface default as of June 2020) PubMed Research (citation) database. PubMed, an international biomedical database created by NCBI, comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (the largest component), life science journals, and online books. For full text options, click a title and then the "Bastyr Check Online" icon.
Embase This link opens in a new window Research (citation) database. A biomedical and pharmaceutical database with over 32 million indexed records and more than 8,500 current, mostly peer-reviewed journals. Over 2,900 journals not offered by MEDLINE and many international titles. In order to save your searches register by clicking the “Register” link in the upper right corner of the screen and use subscription key: bastyr417753.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature citation database.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window Systematic and full-text reviews
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window Search 900 full-text, peer reviewed journals in health and life sciences. PDF icons indicate Bastyr full text availability.

Medical/Scholarly Search Engines

Google Scholar Useful for little-researched and/or cutting edge topics, government information, quick overviews
Trip Pro EBM search engine

eBooks

Note: Clinical Key includes the current edition of Dr. Pizzorno's the Textbook of Natural Medicine.

NCBI Bookshelf (NIH/National Center for Biotechnology Information)

JAMA Evidence This link opens in a new window eBooks available through JAMA Evidence. (Users' Guide to the Medical Lit; Rational Physical Exam; Care at the End of Life)
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Click on Books/Library (top left-hand tab). Basic Sciences, the Current series, and more.
ClinicalKey Books This link opens in a new window
Includes the Textbook of Natural Medicine, Ferri's and 900 more

Interaction Checkers

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Reviews of botanical and dietary supplements, and other CAM therapies including evidence tables that evaluate primary research studies, and bottom line summations of efficacy.

Epocrates Rx Drug monographs, interactions checker and pill ID. Free registration required for website & mobile app.
Drugs.com Information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products. Monographs, interactions checker and pill ID.Data sources include Micromedex®, Cerner Multum™,
WebMD
Suite of information tools, primarily for health consumers

Algorithms

ARUP Consult
ARUP Consult® is a laboratory test selection support tool with more than 2,000 lab tests categorized into disease-related topics and algorithms.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window Quick access to medical information at the point-of-care. Now with interaction checker! ***NOTE: YOU DO NOT NEED TO LOGIN ONCE YOU ARE ON THE MAIN PAGE. THAT IS A SECONDARY LOGIN TO CREATE A PERSONAL ACCOUNT***