HEALWA, an evidence-based suite of resources paid for by licensing fees, is available to eligible practitioners in Washington State. Many of the databases are ones the Bastyr Library subscribes to, including Medline with Full text, AMED, CINAHL Complete and DynaMed. See the toolkit for for your discipline. Registration required.
Research (article) Databases
Point of Care
Botanical & Supplements
Drugs
There is no single drug database that will answer all your questions, so familiarize yourself with more than one. In general, subscription databases such as UpToDate are more accurate & comprehensive. Free databases should be used for educational purposes and not be relied on for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Guidelines
Collaborative Medicine Resources
Additional Resources
Database Options
After you graduate, consider purchasing a select few databases in order to practice efficiently. Fortunately, individual subscriptions are often reasonably priced. Some, however, are available to organizations but not individuals. Investigate your options before you commit to purchasing. For example, what resources are available at your local public and academic libraries? Talk to the librarians and tell them what you’re interested in. Below is a list of databases to consider. Click on the link for subscription information.Still not sure, contact your friendly librarians!
CAM Point of Care
Western Medicine Point of Care
Botanical and Supplements
Additional Resources
Practice management tools recommended by Bastyr ND grad Andrew Brandeis.
EHR software
Natural products dispensary
CA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 4106 Sorrento Valley Blvd. San Diego, CA 92121 Phone:(858) 246-9714 | Email: buclibrary@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486
WA Campus Address: Library Bastyr University 14500 Juanita Dr NE Kenmore, WA 98028 | Phone:(425) 602-3020 | Email:library@bastyr.edu | Text:(425) 947-2486 | Chat: Chat with a Librarian
Bastyr Library content may be used, remixed, tweaked, and built upon non-commercially, as long as BU is credited, and new creations are licensed under the identical terms.